Less is More

20110428-100347.jpgPhoto by Laura Resen for Elle Decor

Flipping through this article in Elle Decor, I came across photos of Patrick Printy’s contemporary colonial home. I fell in love with the simple yet very grand design of his kitchen.“I didn’t want any single piece to overpower the structure itself,” he says. “None of the furniture needed to make a grand statement.” I like the fact that the room seems to speak for itself.

The kitchen cabinets and custom-made island are painted in Benjamin Moore’s White Dove and Arctic Shadows, respectively, and the backsplash is made of ceramic tiles by Exquisite Surfaces; the refrigerator is by Viking, and the barstools are from Design Within Reach.

One more quote I liked from the article: “I’ve always wanted to live in a house that feels as though it has been around forever, but has been renovated for the 21st century.” I couldn’t agree more!

Leave a Reply

