Mary Ann Cake Pan

20110606-101042.jpg

20110606-101255.jpg

I don’t know where to start this post except to give you a little background on my grandmother. My grandmother is an amazing cook and even better baker. She has seven children and 27 grandchildren- and I can’t recall a birthday or holiday when my grandmother didn’t make a scratch cake. When my grandparents moved to Houston a year ago, my grandmother realized she didn’t have nearly enough room for her extensive collection of baking pans. Lucky for me, I was able to take some of the extra pans off her hands. The list of pans I added to my supply included 2 madeline trays, a 5 tier cake pan set, 2 small bunt pans, and an indented quiche pan- or at least what I thought was a quiche pan. After staring at the “indented quiche pan” in my pantry for a year, I finally realized it isn’t for quiches at all! It’s for cakes!

After doing some research I found out that the name of the pan is a Mary Ann Cake Pan. So, for mother’s day this year, I finally used it. This pan makes a wonderfully shaped cake that has an indention at the top, making it easy to fill with any thing you can think of. My mother’s day cake was a yogurt cake topped with fresh berries and whipped cream.

William Sonoma has a couple different Mary Ann Cake recipes on their website including Strawberry Shortcake and Lemon with Blueberries. Check them out or come up with your own. The pan itself gives an added detail to your cake that makes it unique!

20110606-100847.jpgWilliamSonoma.com
2 comments

  1. You are so lucky! I have been eyeing that pan for weeks… Was wondering, does the cake come out with straight sides (like a normal cake pan) or is it still slightly slanted like a tart pan?? Was thinking it could be a cool pan for layer cakes with filling??

    1. Hi Michelle,
      Oh what a cool idea!
      The sides on my pan are slightly slanted so it might not work, but there may be other version of the pan have straight sides.
      If I come across one, I’ll forward it your way!
      Thanks for following Dishes and Details!
      Georgea

Leave a Reply

