Hazelnut Brown Butter Brownies

IMG_0827

If I could trace back to a single recipe that made me realize that gluten free baking wasn’t going to be all that bad… I would say it was this recipe by Stella Parks.  After many many failed attempts to make cakes, muffins, and other baked goods, I came across this recipe in Food and Wine Magazine.  I remember being on the brink of giving up all hope that I could make a great baked good without fluffy gluten-full flour. I even considered getting rid of all of my baking cookbooks because I was so frustrated.  But when I saw this recipe and photo I knew I had to give it one more attempt. This brownie looked and sounded too good to be true.  Lucky for me… it was a great recipe. I took them to work the next day and no one would have ever known they were gluten free. They were extremely chocolaty and delightfully moist– Just as a brownie should be.   After making the brownies I actually wrote the chef an email because I was so elated with the way they turned out. She wrote back to me saying  “ Many chefs see gluten free baking as a “restriction” but I think the person who commits to a lifetime of baking with only one kind of flour is the one with the restriction…” How very well said!

Stella has a great website named bravetart.com  Check it out!

Hazelnut Brown Butter Brownies

7 ounces hazelnuts

1 cup plus 2 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder

1 teaspoon salt

3 cups sugar

1 pound (4 sticks) unsalted butter

12 ounces bittersweet chocolate (70 percent), chopped

6 large eggs

1 tablespoon instant coffee dissolved in 1 tablespoon of hot water

1.      Preheat the oven to 325°. Line a 9-by-13-inch baking pan with foil, pressing it into the corners and leaving overhang on the 2 short sides.

2.     Spread the hazelnuts in a pie plate and toast for 15 minutes, until fragrant and the skins blister; transfer to a kitchen towel to cool slightly, then rub off the skins. Let cool completely. Transfer the nuts to a food processor. Add the cocoa, salt and 1/2 cup of the sugar and pulse until finely ground.

3.     In a large saucepan, cook the butter over moderate heat, shaking the pan occasionally, until nutty-smelling and golden and the foam subsides, about 5 minutes. Remove from the heat and add the chopped chocolate; let stand until melted, about 2 minutes. Whisk the butter and chocolate until smooth, scraping up any browned butter solids from the bottom of the pan. Let cool slightly.

4.     In a large bowl, using an electric mixer, beat the eggs with the remaining 2 1/2 cups of sugar and the coffee until tripled in volume, about 5 minutes. Beat in the chocolate-butter mixture. Add the cocoa-hazelnut mixture and beat to combine, scraping down the bowl. Scrape the batter into the prepared pan and bake for about 50 minutes, until the top is glossy and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out with a few moist crumbs attached. Let the brownie cool completely on a rack, then refrigerate until chilled.

5.      Lift the brownie out of the pan and peel off the foil. Cut into 20 pieces and serve.

SERVE WITH Ice cream.

 

One comment

  1. These look like some of the best GF brownies I’ve ever seen! But a pound of butter? Not sure if I could make these! Or maybe I could just eat one and give the rest away 🙂

Leave a Reply

