Salted Butter Caramel Sauce

photo (1)

A couple weeks ago, I was itching to make a Salted Butter Caramel sauce (the real french style). After scouring a handful of my favorite blogs, I finally found a recipe I wanted to try. I made the sauce, tried it myself, and was immediately addicted. The salted caramel, however, has a very distinct  and rich caramel taste that comes from bringing it to the brink of a burn. I like that flavor.. but  wasn’t sure of other people would. I live alone, so over a week went by with out any other tasters. In my haste to make dinner for my brothers one night, I realized I hadn’t planned anything for dessert {which is very unlike me}. So I picked up vanilla and coffee ice cream and decided to serve it with my caramel sauce { I felt like my grandmother and mother; they always seemed to have fudge sauce- or some dessert- that’s ready at a moment’s notice if guests arrive}. I served my brothers ice cream with salted butter caramel sauce that night and I’m proud to say it was a huge success. My brother, Michael, liked it so much he took a jar home; I hear he eats a little every night.

This caramel sauce is salted only with the salt of the butter that is used to make it and I think that’s what makes this so addicting!  It is easy to make (if you follow the instructions carefully) and so satisfying– making it a great item to have in your refrigerator.

I found this recipe on Smitten Kitchen She goes into some wonderful depth about making caramels in her post. She recommends getting the best European butter you can find for this recipe; I used the best I could find at Central Market and it definitely made a difference. My advice is to read everything she has to say… caramel can be tricky!

Deep, Dark Salted Butter Caramel Sauce

[Sauce au Caramel au Beurre Salé]

Makes about 1 1/3 cups

1 cup sugar
3 ounces (6 tablespoons) salted butter, the better you can get, the better it will taste
1/2 cup plus two tablespoons heavy cream, at room temperature

Melt the sugar over medium to moderately high heat in a larger pot than you think you’ll need–at least two or three quarts, whisking or stirring the sugar as it melts to ensure it heats evenly. Cook the liquefied sugar to a nice, dark copper color. Add the butter all at once and stir it in, before turning off the stove and pour in the heavy cream (The sauce will foam up quite a bit when you add it; this is why you want the larger pot.), whisking it until you get a smooth sauce.

You use it right away or pour it into a jar and store it in the fridge for up to two weeks. When you take it out, it will likely have thickened a bit but 60 seconds in the microwave brings it right back to pouring consistency.

Serve over everything.

Leave a Reply

